Amateur Publishers

Standard

My post is a little late this week. I apologize to everyone. Although, I doubt anyone was waiting on pins and needles for me. 🙂

 

Once upon a time, I had a Facebook page, like everyone else under the age of 80. I deleted it because I was tired of hearing what people ate for breakfast or bought at Walmart. I found the big issue was the content on my own page was determined by what other people found interesting. The people I was interested in keeping up with already text messaged me new information about their lives.

 

Also, I just wasn’t comfortable posting my personal life online for people I wasn’t really friends with. That has shown, on many occasions, to come back to haunt someone. I can remember another manager, at a previous job I had, being fired for posting negative comments about the company. I wonder how many careers have been ruined because of careless social media comments?

 

The sample postings, at the beginning of the chapter Publish, Then Filter, are perfect examples of why I deleted my account. I often wondered why people did not utilize the private message function more. Based on my experience, I found Facebook to be juvenile and useful only to spread your personal business places it shouldn’t go. 🙂Stop-airing-your-dirty-laundry-on-facebook

 

Once, during my short Facebook experience, an acquaintance had a public Facebook conversation with her friend, wishing her good luck and that her prayers were with her. This started a swarm of people responding, concerned and asking if everything was ok. My acquaintance’s response? “It’s kind of personal and not my place to tell anyone”. Really? Wow! I remember rolling my eyes and thinking “why the heck (or a similar word) did you post that on Facebook then?”. Attention seeking behavior from amateur publishers?

 

This story reminds me of the portion of Publish, Then Filter that discusses the invention of the telephone, not for an audience but for personal, face to face, conversations. It seems to me that people have combined their personal conversations with their audience conversations. I live by the rule of “don’t air your dirty laundry”.

 

I don’t remember there being an enormous amount of advertisements on my friends’ pages, at that time, other than for family run businesses in the little town I lived in. Had there been a huge amount, it would have been yet another reason to delete my profile.

 

The only account I currently have, other than the Twitter account for this course, is Linked In. I prefer to portray a more professional presence on the Internet and to keep my personal information, and photos, private. I can easily share photos, with the people who actually want to see them, using my iPhone.

 

networking-3

Networking is easier because you recognize people you have never met in person before

I’m also not sure I would put a photo of myself on my Linked In account. For professional networking, I would hope my appearance would be irrelevant. However, in some situations, I can see the need to be able to recognize the people in a network at events and conferences.

 

For researching, I am from the “don’t believe everything you read” club. I prefer to go to the websites of major news providers for my facts. It is just too easy for someone to create “news” based on gossip. Reputation for providing facts, not simply hearsay, is an extremely important attribute for sources during my information searches.

 

However, I also know the major players make mistakes too. Just look at the presidential race of 2000. I can’t remember which organizations mistakenly called the election for Gore, then retracted it, then called the election for Bush. To say it was a fiasco is an understatement.

 

With that said, if I read something that interests me on my internet home page, even from a reputable source, I typically research the topic further. “Did Amy Winehouse really die?” for example. (Not that I was particularly surprised; she wasn’t exactly the poster child for healthy living). When multiple sources confirm the first story, I start to believe it. There are just too many web companies that are like online versions of Star magazine.

 

Until information has been reconfirmed by numerous, reputable sources, I assume it is gossip 🙂

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Thanks Jen I enjoyed reading your post. You hit the nail head on with your statement of “attention seeking behavior from amateur publishers”.I couldn’t have said it better myself. It is one thing to post something of knowledgeable facts and information and another to be ranting and raving about personal issues for attention. I very seldom get on Facebook, but when I do I prefer a nice inspirational quote, or to know that my friends I haven’t talked to or seen in a while are doing well. When I get on and see the same person on my page full of post after post of negativity or even positive comments, I recognize the attention seeking behavior and lose interest. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I realize the struggle of having useless status updates coming in through my news feed as well. Having had a facebook account since I was a sophomore in high school, I would often times mindlessly post things that were of very little to no importance to other people around me. As time has gone by, I’ve been a lot more careful about what I publish online, especially if it’s deemed to be “Facebook worthy” or not. Example: My older sister is expecting! We’re engaged! These are things that I can get behind or get excited about. I’m not very interested in what you had for dinner tonight or anything like that.

    Great job!

  3. Great post! I totally agree that people should be much more careful of the pictures and statuses they post, especially since employers are known to check these sites before hiring people. I also agree with your rule (the saying in your photo) and that people should use the private messaging more often.

Leave a Reply

